My Little Farm Table…..

 I have been “shopping” for a dining room table for over a year now. I thought that I’d found the perfect table about a month ago. Unfortunately, I found the table on Monday and hubby lost his job on Tuesday. At this point I went into freak out mode and swore we’d never spend another dime. We’d eat beans & rice, turn the heat down to arctic levels and pound our clothes on a rock at the creek. Needless to say, I didn’t buy the table. And it was, actually, exactly what I was looking for. I wanted a 50’s Formica and chrome table with a neutral top and rounded ends. The one I had found was exactly that. The top was a gray “cracked ice” pattern and the lady only wanted $40 for it. What a steal! I had been watching these in antique stores go for between $100 and $200. Since I have rejoined reality and stopped freaking out, I have kicked myself daily for not buying the table. 
 Fast forward to yesterday…… I had been surfing the tables on Craig’s list just to “see what was out there”. I hadn’t really intended to buy anything. However, as I looked……..there it was….. THE table I had passed up. I had to check the old listing to be sure it wasn’t the exact same person with the same table. It wasn’t, but the table was the same and to my delight……so was the price! I think God saved it just for me. So we decided to make the drive to check it out. When we got there, it was just what I wanted and it was in great shape. I was thrilled! The lady selling it asked if I would be interested in any other furniture because she had a garage full of it. She and her 18-year-old granddaughter shop garage and estate sales and find old furniture to refurbish. They “sturdy them up” if needed and re-finish them. They had intended to have a big sale over the summer but just got too busy and so have an entire garage full of furniture ready for a new home! Her granddaughter had just finished her first “solo” restoration and it was DARLING! I certainly didn’t need 2 tables, but I couldn’t help myself! The other challenge I’m having with the Formica and chrome table is that finding matching chairs may take some time and patience. This little farm table had 2 chairs with it and while the styles don’t really go together, they will certainly serve my purpose. She had painted them a light green and re-covered the seats in green and blue. We bought both tables and the 2 chairs for $100. I felt pretty good about our find! 
 We stopped at Red Robin and had dinner on a free gift card we’d been given several years back so we didn’t even have the cost of eating out. So, for $30 in gas, $100 for the goods and a $9 tip at dinner, I got a cute new dining set for the house and my retro Formica and chrome table!!!! Yay me!! The other table has been relegated to the garage for the time. Over the next year I’ll be on the lookout for matching chrome chairs. Gotta love up-cycled goods!

This entry was posted in Saving Money. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

