Sauerkraut Part II…..

 The kraut finished “perking” last weekend. I took it up to Dad’s cabinet shop / canning kitchen / coffee roasting / garage to finish the process. He as a 2 burner outdoor stove and I figured it would be easiest just to get 2 canners going and get it done. It was also nice because Hubby was able to put another coat of finish on the new cabinet fronts while I was processing kraut.

 Before going up to process, I opened all of the jars and wiped the rims and lids. I wanted to be sure that there were no “particles” of cabbage on the rims that could prevent sealing.

I’m very pleased with the outcome and am amazed at how easy it was to make. I have to confess I ended up with a little trouble on the processing part. I had wide and small mouth jars and the wide mouth turned out fine. Some of the small mouth jars lost a fair amount of liquid (maybe 2 inches) so I opened them up, filled them boiled water, applied new lids and re-processed them. The second time they were fine. They might have been ok the first go round, but it made me nervous. Maybe I didn’t have the lids tightened down enough or maybe they got too hot or something……? You’re not pressurizing them but merely water bathing. I’m not sure what happened, but I was able to remedy the issue with a quick fill and re-processing.

 We ate our first jar of kraut the other night and it was delicious! Hubby made kraut, apples and pork ribs in the crock pot. Tasty stuff!!! We’ll be making this again!
M

This entry was posted in Cheap Eats, General, Saving Money and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

