Tomatillo (Tomato-Free) Salsa….

 Along with wheat, Hubby is allergic to shellfish, tomato, avocado, banana, cherries….. *sigh*. Unfortunately, this means no salsa. We LOVE taco salad, tostadas, burritos, tacos etc but they’re just not the same without salsa. A few months ago Hubby found a recipe for tomatillo salsa rather than tomato. It was surprisingly good!!! I read through it to get an idea of what to put in and then I just made up my own.

Tomatillo Salsa:
6 lbs of fresh tomatillos husked
2 onions
2 bunches chopped fresh cilantro
1 Serrano pepper minced
1 jalapeno pepper minced
2 T cumin
2 t salt
1/2 t black pepper
1/2 t chili powder
1 T lemon juice (I wanted fresh lime juice but was too lazy to go back to town)
2 T minced garlic
1 1/2 cups of black beans (because it’s what I had)
1 med can of fire roasted green chilis
Some water……(I say “some” water because I used way too much and wouldn’t do that again. Tomatillos are very juicy and I think I could have cooked them down without adding but maybe a cup of water)

Just husk and chop your tomatillos, onion and cilantro and throw everything but the black beans in a stockpot.
I cooked it at a light boil for about 10 -15 minutes and then simmered it on low for probably another 20. I ended up pouring off some of the liquid because it got too watery. I saved the liquid and processed it in a quart jar. It had great flavor and I didn’t want to waste it. It will make good soup base.
Then, you need to blend the cooked mixture a bit in a food processor, blender etc….. I use a Vita Mix. I found one at a yard sale about 5 years ago and I was so thrilled. It was the older style with the stainless pitcher just like Mom’s was. If you don’t know what a Vita Mix is, it’s essentially a blender on steroids. If you’re a child of the late 70 ‘s / early 80’s you might remember them as I do. It was that evil appliance that your mother used to torment you with homemade cream of celery soups, vegetable juices and partially ground wheat berries that was mistaken referred to as “flour” and was used for making what we affectionately refer to as “Mom’s fall-apart” bread. As children, we despised this evil machine. It was used to make “healthy-back-to-the-land” meals. Of course when you’re 7, you don’t want healthy, fresh foods…..you want Wonder bread, Koolaid and Twinkies like all of your friends were eating. I never dreamed that in my adulthood I would get all giddy about owning one of my very own! Go figure…… Anyway, puree the mix a bit holding some back to preserve a few of the chunks. REMEMBER, use care…..the mixture is hot! I thought I’d take a shortcut and just “hold” the “Action Dome” (lid) on the Vita Mix to save time. Such a fool I was!!! That thing creates enough pressure that it blew my hand right off the top and blew chunks ALL over me and the kitchen and burned my arm! Stupid Vita Mix….. I take it back…..it IS the evil appliance I had suspected it was. What a mess…….

Hot pack and process in a boiling water bath 20 minutes.

And you’re done! Tomato free salsa!!!
Enjoy!
M

This entry was posted in Cheap Eats, DIY and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

