Utah Budget Vacation…..Things I’ve Learned…

All in all our first “budget vacation” was a success. I did, however, learn a few things along the way.

  1. NEVER get off the paved road in areas with which you are not familiar. Bad things happen. You would think I would have learned this years back at Chaco, but alas, I am a slow learner.
  2. I am a bigger hotel snob than I was willing to admit. The Super 8 in Blanding, Utah helped me to recognize this fact. Thank you Super 8.
  3. You CAN travel on the cheap and still have a great time!
  4. Some bedbug repellents smell better than others. Perhaps I’ll review them in a future post. 🙂
  5. Idaho Falls has some pretty nice antique stores.
  6. Leaving the Expedition at home in favor of the Vibe isn’t as hideous a prospect as I had imagined. We were perfectly comfortable, had room for antiques and saved a bundle on gas. There are things, however, that you should not do in a Vibe. Refer to lesson #1.
  7. The road between Bonners Ferry and Pocatello is still as boring as I remembered it.
  8. I don’t have to take 2-3 weeks on the road to have a good vacation.
  9. Coming home early is OK.
  10. No matter what you do or where you go, if you’re together, it doesn’t matter.

This was such a great trip for me. When Rodd first got downsized, our lengthy road trips were one of the things we mourned. I think the Lord really used this trip to show me that vacationing on a budget is not the end of the world. I can be done and it can be fun. He also used it to allow me to recognize that maybe my days of craving 3-4 weeks on the road at a time are behind me. I was so ready to come home after 4 or 5 days. We had a blast, but we really enjoyed our extra time at home as well. It was nice just to hang out and rest. Who woulda thunk it??? 🙂

M

This entry was posted in Adventures, Saving Money, Traveling on the Cheap, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

