Operation Chicken House…

Last year Rodd decided that he seriously wanted to have chickens. We’ve battled off and on about chickens over the past few years. We used to travel extensively and were gone far too often to have animals of any kind. Because our situation has changed with Hubby in school full-time, I have conceded. He built a little chicken house…..enough for a few hens. He wanted to make it easy to care for…..good call. He thought that putting it up higher would make it easier to clean. Good idea in theory. The structure is pretty small. He built it on a standard pallet so it’s roughly 48″x40″. He built the whole thing from stuff that he scrounged. I think the only parts he actually bought were the red paint and the concrete blocks.

He got it all finished and several weekends back, decided it was time to move it around behind the house to its permanent location. Now, I have 3 brothers-in-law and one 17-year-old nephew living a stone’s throw away. I was thinking maybe he’d ask one of his He-Man brothers-in-law to give him a hand moving it, but no……. He thinks we can do it just the two of us. Okie dokie……. I’ve never been a wussy girlie-girl so I’m happy to comply.

He had already moved it around behind the house but couldn’t get it up on the “stilts” (my term, not his) by himself. So he just needed a little help from me. How hard could it be to get one little chicken house up there, right? Apparently harder than he originally thought.

When we went back there and I saw what he had planned, I suggested that while having it elevated for cleaning purposes would be handy, I wasn’t sure we could get it up there (in fact, I was pretty sure this was futile) but he was not deterred by my negativity. I could see what was going to happen. He was thinking we could just pick it up and plop it down on the stilts. I knew there was no way this was going to happen. In the end, he wanted to try to get one end up there and just rock and slide it. I knew that when we applied pressure, the stilts were going to be shoved right over. It just wasn’t strong enough. BUT …….not my project. I’m just here to help!
Up we go!
Hhhmmm…… This isn’t working as planned……
Maybe we need more horsepower…….?
Hhhhmmm…..no, that’s not really working either……
Time to abandon the treetop chicken house idea and listen to your wife. πŸ™‚
Now that looks more reasonable……
Look how easy that slides right up there!!! Who’da thunk it? πŸ™‚
Tada!!!! Operation chicken house is complete!!!!
M

This entry was posted in Adventures, DIY, Saving Money and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Operation Chicken House…

  1. Kate says:

    Wow, that looks amazing! Well done, great project πŸ™‚

Leave a comment