If it died in the forest……..I’m not eating it!!!!

This has been my motto for years. I have tried different variations of wild game and had some pretty grotesque experiences. I decided years ago that I just don’t like it, and I’m not eating it. In 2007 my younger sister married an avid hunter. My brother-in-law has hunted nearly all of his life and he has a ton of experience killing, handling and cooking wild game. Over the last year I’ve been brave enough to try a few things that they’ve cooked with elk, venison, duck etc. Honestly, I’ve not gagged a single time on any of their game. So, I’ve decided to retract my opinion on wild game and give it another shot. So far, so good. Today was the first time I’ve tried preparing it completely on my own. Usually, we eat it with my sister and brother-in-law and they prepare it. My sister gave me an elk roast and decided it was time I fly solo………

Tonight, we’re having crock pot elk roast with veggies and mushroom gravy over rice. I looked around for an appropriate recipe and didn’t really find anything that grabbed me. I took several of the ideas and made up my own version. We’ll see how it turns out.

Crock Pot Elk Roast with Mushroom Gravy
1 small elk roast
1/2 onion
carrots
celery
cream of mushroom soup (I made my own)
4 tsp. onion flakes
1 tsp. onion powder
1/4 tsp black pepper
1/2 tsp salt
beef bullion granules (That’s what I wanted to use, but I didn’t have any so I used Better Than Bullion – Chicken…..1 tsp with a 1/2 cup of boiling water)
potatoes – I used canned because it’s what I had.

To make the soup, chop fresh mushrooms into bits and saute them in a tablespoon of butter with a little chopped fresh onion. You’ll also need milk of some kind. I used evaporated canned because that’s all I had.
1

Once the onion and mushroom is sauted, sprinkle in a couple of tablespoons of flour. I used 1 T of tapioca and 2 T of brown rice because my husband is allergic to wheat. Add about a teaspoon of parsley, a little salt and pepper and a crushed garlic clove. Stir to mix and add in your milk. Cook and stir until thickened to your preference. Pour in dissolved bullion and mix.

4

Chop the celery and carrots to desired size and slice the onion. I boil my carrots and celery a bit before putting it in the crock pot because sometimes it seems like they’re a little crisp yet by the time the meat it done.
3

I tossed the sliced onion in the bottom, rinsed the roast and put it in, then drained and dumped the rest of the veggies in.  5

Toss the minced onion and onion powder in and then pour the mushroom concoction in on top. 6Turn the crock pot on high for about 8 hours and hope it doesn’t taste like crap!

MO

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

