Gluten Free Cream of Mushroom Soup…..Make it at home and can it!

For years I grew up watching my mom throw together casseroles out of whatever was on hand. The base was often cream of mushroom soup. Since Rodd is allergic to wheat, I have stopped using canned cream of mushroom soup. I found a gf version, but who can afford it???? I often make a little pot so that I can use it in recipes, but it’s so handy just to pop open a can. I decided to make my own and can it. After all……how hard can it be?????

Gluten Free Cream of Mushroom Soup

1 large onion (chopped….I used a food processor because I’m lazy)
1 or 2 stalks of celery (optional)
1 industrial can of evaporated milk (or whatever kind you have or like….)
2 t parsley flakes
salt & pepper (to taste)
8 cups of fresh chopped mushrooms (again, I used the food processor to chop 1/2, but didn’t like how small they were coming out so I chopped the rest the old fashioned way)
GF flour (whatever kind you like to use…..I used tapioca and brown rice)
cornstarch if desired (you can blend it with your flours for thickening)

Chop the onion and the mushrooms. I used a food processor for most of the chopping, but I did chop some of the mushrooms by hand to retain larger pieces.
mush2

mush3

Melt the butter in a large pot and add the onion. Saute the onion and when it’s translucent, add the mushrooms. Cook until soft, but not slimy. Sprinkle and stir in the flour. I started with a cup total, but ended up having to add more to gain the desired consistency. Pour in the milk and whisk it all together. Bring it to a gentle boil and thicken it up with more flour if needed. I’m going for the consistency of condensed, canned soup.
mush4

Fill sterilized jars and process in a pressure canner for prescribed time. I processed my pints for 65 minutes. Enjoy!
M

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

